Dirty Water Records

Taking Music Backwards Into Tomorrow

Watch and listen:

Just listen:

In Your Night Of Dreams And Other Foreboding Pleasures

The Masonics

July 11th 2011
DWC1051, Dirty Water Records
Garage Punk/Beat, LP, CD, Download

Something of a garage-rock’n’roll supergroup, The Masonics are a winning combination – featuring musicians who have done time in such legendary groups as the Milkshakes, Pop Rivets, Wildebeests, Kaisers, Headcoats, Del Monas, and more (not bad, seeing as there’s only three of ’em – namely, Mickey Hampshire, Bruce Brand and John Gibbs.)

Masters of the Medway beat made famous by Mr Billy Childish, this is the group that should be the more famous one – with their better songs and better musicianship. Bruce played alongside Childish in the Pop Rivets back in the late 1970s and he and Mickey were both in the Milkshakes (in fact, it was actually Mickey & the Milkshakes originally!).

Anyone who has even a passing interest in garage and beat music of the last 25 years will have come across the names of the bands in which the three members of the devilishly stylish Masonics have spent time. And, combining their previous bands’ sixties beat, US garage and instrumental stylings with a punk rock attitude, this is a group that pays attention to detail, with a talent for songwriting coming to the fore.

Singer/guitarist Micky Hampshire possesses a merciless instinct for touch ing, simple, timeless rock’n’roll melodies and lyrics. The band performs with verve and precision, on record and on stage, always giving their followers their money’s worth. Bruce Brand pounds the traps like it could save your life – and sometimes I believe it very well could! John Gibbs twangs the bass strings with a gut instinct, taking you into a groove with grit and gumption.

Eight albums down the line The Masonics remain more hard-hitting and vital than any group of teenage hopefuls on the scene – of that there’s no doubt.

  1. In Your Night Of Dreams - 3:18
  2. The Unknown - 3:17
  3. Obermann - 2:37
  4. Hurt By Someone - 2:56
  5. Gun-Diddy-I-Die - 2:18
  6. I Cheated I Confess - 2:15
  7. Take A Look Into Your Heart - 2:03
  8. Sorrows Lane - 2:49
  9. Put the Knife Down - 3:11
  10. Please, Please, Please - 2:18
  11. 'til the Silence Came -
  12. She's My Baby - 1:33


Dirty Water Records London